46 Comments
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

Medgar and Myrlie. Great civil rights history focusing on Mississippi. Interesting to read about what happened to the family after his death.

Expand full comment
author

Oh good one!

Expand full comment
Sep 8Liked by Traci Thomas

I really liked this one too! 🙏🏼💕

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

Skin and Bones by Renee Watson,

Expand full comment

I just worked a bookshop event with author Clothilde Ewing, and this is the book she picked as her fave of this summer! I hadn’t heard of it, but good to know!

Expand full comment
author

Oooohhhhh!!!!

Expand full comment

Lovvvvvved this book! Highly recommend!

Expand full comment

I second this!

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

But I am actually not sure Traci will like it 😕 but would love to see an interview with Renee Watson!

Expand full comment
Sep 8Liked by Traci Thomas

Yes! She would be a fantastic guest!

Expand full comment

Ok I picked Madness: Race and Insanity in a Jim Crow Asylum by Antonia Hylton . It was published at the top of the year so it fits your criteria. It’s very much in your comfort zone: nonfiction, investigative journalism. I think you’ll really find it fascinating!

Expand full comment
author

I started it and DNF'd after about 45%. I really struggled with the organization and story flow. I feel like a lot of people loved it but I just could not.

Expand full comment

Yea that’s very valid critique!

Expand full comment
Sep 6Liked by Traci Thomas

Memory Piece by Lisa Ko

Expand full comment
author

Ok!

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Traci Thomas

I said PRAISESONG FOR THE KITCHEN GHOSTS by Crystal Wilkinson. It is part memoir, part cookbook and it is beautiful, in both the visuals and the writing.

Expand full comment
author

This is for sure on my TBR! Great pick.

Expand full comment
Sep 8Liked by Traci Thomas

Okay, ✅💕🙏🏼 I’m going to recommend essays by Sasha LaPointe- published March 2024- Thunder Song- I added to the doc!

Expand full comment
author

Ooh ok! Sounds good.

Expand full comment

Just found out about this one and it sounds interesting: The Life and Death of Ryan White: AIDS Inequality in America by Paul Renfro.

Expand full comment
author

HOLY SHIT! This is screaming my name. I need to read this!

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

Bite by Bite by Aimee Nezhukumatathil

Expand full comment
author

Oh nice, this is on my TBR already! Great pick.

Expand full comment
Sep 8Liked by Traci Thomas

I really enjoyed these essays too!

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

The audio is free on Spotify and her narration is top tier

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

Ended up going with NF, Hammer and Hope. More people need to read about Black southern communists and it would be soo good to discuss. It's a little too long but many riveting stories

Expand full comment
author

This book isn’t from 2024 though. It’s gotta be a 2024 book, that’s the whole point.

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

*hoe (hammer and hope is the magazine lol)

Expand full comment
Sep 6Liked by Traci Thomas

I recommended something completely off base but delightful - Lunar New Year Love Story by Gene Luen Yang and Leuyen Pham. The artwork is beautiful and I love the story (and I will read anything Gene Luen Yang is involved with).

Expand full comment
author

Love this. Mr. Yang was a teacher at my high school while I was there.

Expand full comment
Sep 6Liked by Traci Thomas

Was it the Dragon Hoops school??? We read that for my YA class in library school.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I am a Dragon!

Expand full comment
Sep 6Liked by Traci Thomas

🐉 amazing.

Expand full comment

Also, now I would love to know more. Have you read the book? If so, what did you think of it?

Expand full comment

What a great idea! I'm always looking for recommendations! I recommended Lula Dean's Little Library of Banned Books by Kirsten Miller. I read the ebook but I've heard from other folks who listened to the audiobook that it was a good/fun listen.

Expand full comment
author

I’ve heard good things about this one.

Expand full comment
Sep 6Liked by Traci Thomas

I tried to pick a NF that is intense ha ha. I like this idea, I’m excited to see what you pick.

Expand full comment
author

Which one?!?

Expand full comment
Sep 7Liked by Traci Thomas

The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein… it opens with a deep dive into mind control and psychedelic drugs. It’s haunting cuz she talks to a woman who underwent these experiments. Ironically the doctors in stranger things reminded me of this so bad when I watched that show.

Expand full comment
author

But that book didn’t come out this year. It’s gotta be a 2024 release. I think TSD came out in 2007.

Expand full comment
Sep 8Liked by Traci Thomas

Oh jeez how embarrassing for me haha I didn’t read close enough! I’ll redo it.

Expand full comment
Sep 11Liked by Traci Thomas

But What Will People Say? Navigating Mental Health, Identity, Love, and Family Between Cultures by Sahaj Kaur Kohli - another BOML!

Expand full comment
author

Oooh ok I love that high praise!

Expand full comment

mmmmkay so i was curious what i’d submit so i went and looked at my list…of the 80 or so books i’ve read this year, only 6 came out in 2024 🙈 what does that mean?? 😶‍🌫️ maybe i should read whatever you pick too!

Expand full comment
author

Well you can pick something you want to read from this year!

Expand full comment

Briefly Perfectly Human by Alua Arthur. The fascinating memoir of a woman that works as a death doula.

Expand full comment